Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Facebook offers users in Afghanistan the opportunity to block their profile on the social network at the touch of a button starting Thursday, now that the Taliban have seized power in the country. Facebook director Nathaniel Gleicher writes on Twitter on Thursday that it is also no longer possible to search the friends list of Facebook users currently in Afghanistan. The social network takes the measures out of fear for the security of Facebook users in Afghanistan. Whoever blocks his or her profile hides all photos and messages. Gleicher warns people in Afghanistan that Facebook is “only one part of the online identity”. He calls people to be aware of what they share. Facebook and Instagram have already announced that they are removing any “Taliban presence”. The also American WhatsApp is busy trying to find out if the Taliban are using the message service and if so, how the company can remove the group from its network. YouTube reported on Wednesday that the Taliban would be banned completely in order to comply with US sanctions against the radical Islamic Movement. About the author: Nick SchrammNick Schramm is tech savvy with strong engineering education behind. His interest in sciences helps the whole WeeklyNewsReview stuff to keep informed about various topics of the modern technology.